Tuesday, May 31, 2011

Potato and Leek soup.

I had a horrible experience with potato soup as a child and was tempted never to try it ever, ever, ever again, but yesterday there were about 3 people who independently were raving about how awesome it is that I decided to give it a go. I refer to my cooking style as 'invention food' and tend to go with what I think would work together. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't, but boy-oh-boy-oh did this work out!

Potato and leek, pre-soup
INGREDIENTS
1.5kg potatoes (I used Lady Christl)
1 leek
4-5 stalks of celery
3-4 cloves of garlic, crushed
Vegetable stock (3-4 cups)
Milk (I used goat milk, it's awesome)

METHOD
Slice the leek and celery and throw it in to a stock pot with a couple of good lugs of olive oil over a low-medium heat, the aim is to soften it rather than fry it. As soon as it starts going mushy add the garlic and stir gently until the vegies really soften. Slice the potato in to rough quarters. You can leave the skins on depending on what kind of spuds you use, the skin is good for you!

The adding of the potato
Add the potatoes to the pot and stir it through so everything's all mixed up, then add your stock. If the stock isn't enough to cover the mixture, add some water (or stock) until it just covers your potatoes. Leave it to simmer until the potatoes are literally falling apart. You may want to skim the bubbles from the top after about 5 minutes if you are using particularly starchy potatoes. Turn the heat off and add a cup of milk. Use a stick-mixer to whizz up your soup, adding more milk if necessary. Add salt and pepper to taste. Tasty as!

24 comments:

  1. I have been looking for a potato and leek recipe for dinner tomorrow night and now I have found it. I shall call it Nat's Potato & Leek Invention Soup :)

    Nicolex

    ReplyDelete
  2. Nice recipe - I should give it a try! :) amazing how our tatstes can change, right?

    ReplyDelete
  3. I hope you like it ladies!

    PS Don't forget to enter the giveaway! ;p

    ReplyDelete
  4. I love potatoes! Who doesn't I guess? Either way, this recipe looks delicious, I think I'm going to give it a try soon! Thanks for sharing :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. There's nothing better than a good soup! It's a bit cold in the Midwest now and still soup season.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletfactory-stores.us.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface-outlets.com.co

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardypopsale.com

    Coach Outlet Store Online http://www.coachstoreonline.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletstore.in.net

    Cheap Jordans http://www.cheapjordansretro.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet Store http://www.michaelkorsoutletsstores.us.com

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurses.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutlet2016.us.com

    Tory Burch Shoes http://www.toryburch-outlet.us.org

    Longchamp Outlet http://www.longchampoutlet.in.net

    Michael Kors Handbags http://www.innnov8.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.innnovate.com

    Red Bottom Shoes http://www.redbottomshoes.us.org

    Moncler Jackets http://www.monclerdownjackets.us.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletstore.us.com

    Moncler Outlet http://www.moncleroutletonline.in.net

    Coach Factory http://www.maganates.com

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactorysoutlet.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadesoutlet.us.com

    Ray Ban Outlet http://www.raybanoutletstore.in.net

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoes2016.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlets.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachoutletstore.name

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletonline.name

    Coach Outlet http://www.coach-outlets.us.org

    Nike Roshe Run http://www.tanie-nikerosherun.pl

    Buty Nike Air Max http://www.airmaxsprzedazdla.pl

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeairmax.us.org

    Red Bottom Shoes http://www.redbottomshoe.in.net

    Christian Louboutin Outlet http://www.christianlouboutinoutlet.us.org

    Balenciaga Handbags http://www.balenciagaoutlets.us.com

    Balenciaga Handbags http://www.balenciaga-handbags.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.in.net

    Toms Shoes http://www.tomshoesoutlet.us.com

    Hermes Belt http://www.hermes-belts.us.com

    Prada Outlet http://www.pradafactoryoutlet.com

    Louis Vuitton Outlet http://www.louisvuittonsoutlet.us.com

    North Face Outlet Store http://www.northfaceoutletstore.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.north-face.in.net

    North Face http://www.north-faceoutlets.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Outlet http://www.louisvuitton-outlets.us.org

    Timberland Boots http://www.timberland-outlets.us.com

    Cheap Timberland Boots http://www.timberlandoutlet.us.com

    Tory Burch Outlet http://www.outlettoryburch.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutletusa.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlaurenstoreoutlet.us.com

    Gucci Shoes http://www.guccifactoryoutlet.name

    Gucci Outlet http://www.guccioutletco.us.com

    North Face Jackets http://www.northfacefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Prada Outlet http://www.pradaoutlets.in.net

    Hollister Clothing http://www.hollister-clothing.us.com

    Ferragamo Shoes http://www.ferragamoshoes.us.org

    Tiffany Outlet http://www.tiffany-outlets.us.com

    Tiffany Outlet http://www.tiffanyco-outlet.us.com

    NFL Jerseys http://www.nfljerseys.name

    Toms Outlet http://www.outlettoms.us.com

    Cheap Jordans http://www.cheapjordans.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.thenorthfaceoutlet.us.org

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-korsoutletstores.us.com

    Prada Handbags http://www.pradaoutlet.us.org

    Chan Luu Sale http://www.chanluu.us.com

    Toms Outlet http://www.tomsoutletstores.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletofficial.us.com

    Beats By Dr Dre http://www.beatsbydrdre.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    ReplyDelete

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...